Retirement Assets

Designating MPBN as the beneficiary of a retirement account such as 401k, 403(b), IRA and other retirement accounts causes the charitable gift to be deductible for income tax or estate tax purposes.

Making a gift of a qualified retirement plan asset such as a 401(K), 403(b), IRA, Keogh or pension plan is another way to benefit MPBN and receive significant tax savings. Retirement plan assets are fully taxable when received by an individual beneficiary.

By naming MPBN as the beneficiary of a retirement plan, the donor maintains complete control over the assets during his/her lifetime, but at the donor’s death the plan passes to MPBN free of both estate and income taxes. When creating an estate plan, donors may wish to consider leaving his/her heirs other assets, such as cash and securities, which are not as highly taxed.

For more information about Retirement Assets please contact us:

Scott Marchildon
Chief Development Officer
207-330-4510
smarchildon@mpbn.net

Barbara Thorson
Major Gifts Administrative Assistant
207-330-4603
bthorson@mpbn.net

Matt Grondin
Director of Major Gifts
207-330-4550
mgrondin@mpbn.net

Kate Phenix
Development & Communication Associate
207-330-4600
kphenix@mpbn.net

Heide Lester
Major Gifts Coordinator
207-330-4519
hlester@mpbn.net

Kim Allen
Major Gifts Officer
207-330-4530
kallen@mpbn.net